Local County and City Officials

The 24 Maryland counties (including Baltimore City) each has elected officials to govern the local jursidction. While some county government combine executive and legislative authority in a single Council, the largest have a mayor or county executive and a city or county council.


In addition, some incorporated municipalities (towns, cities) also have elected officials to govern them.

The following counties have local elections in 2020:

  • Allegany County – non-partisan races 

    • Cumberland City Council – 4 candidates

  • Baltimore City – all are partisan races, featuring single Democratic and Republican nominees for each office: Mayor, City Council President, Comptroller, 14 City Council Members

    • In Districts 1, 4, 8, 9, 11 and 13 , there are no Republican candidates.

  • Cecil County Executive – partisan race – 1 seat, 2 candidates (Democratic and Republican nominees)

  • Washington County – all non-partisan races

    • Hagerstown Mayor – 1 seat, 2 candidates

    • Hagerstown City Council members – 5 districts, each with 1 seat, 2 candidates (total 5 seats, 10 candidates)

  • Wicomico County Council – partisan race – 1 seat, 2 candidates (Democratic and Republican nominees)


The effectiveness of UULM-MD’s statewide advocacy work is impossible without the involvement of UUs and other Marylanders.

Email: info@uulmmd.org

Phone: 410-266-8044

Donations are Tax-Deductible 

For more information on all UU groups working for social justice, the UUSC provides the following link showing the UU Social Justice Universe.

Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry of Maryland c/o Unitarian Universalist Church of Annapolis, UULM-MD Copyright ©2019. All Rights Reserved.
333 Dubois Road, Annapolis, MD 21401 | 410-266-8044  |  info@uulmmd.org